Come. Remember. Trust.

Come. Remember. Trust.
8b25a23009c9fb0aa2bfbb47ea504e04

There are so many times where I feel down and depressed about life. Sometimes it’s discontentment. Sometimes, it’s my shame over my own sin and a severe lack of joy. Sometimes it’s fear of the future. I wish I could be content on my own. I wish I had the power to bring joy to my life again and be guilt-free. I wish that I knew everything that was going to happen in the future in order to prepare my heart.

But I can’t. I can’t do any of this on my own. God is the only one who can fully satisfy me. He is the lone author of my future. The One who will bring joy into my life.
I can also reach out and take hold of His peace that is right before me. I can come to Him. He gives us contentment amidst our weariness and burdens.
“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” ~Matthew 11:28-30
All we have to do is Come. He promises rest.
When I am down and depressed about life…there IS something I can do. I can remember that my shame was taken away when Jesus died on the cross. He took all my sin and loaded it upon Himself. My burdens became His. My struggles- His too. My pain and anguish- He covered it all. That knowledge is the beginning of Joy.
“…fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” ~Hebrews 12:2
And about the future…it’s a waste of His time to worry about what we are not meant to know. Jesus knows our heart, our deepest desires, and what path we will be on. He promises to never leave us or forsake us. Because He loved us, we love. Because He is writing our book, we trust Him for a beautiful story. Because He is God, we know His timing his good and perfect.
“…All the days planned for me were written in your book before I was one day old.” ~Psalm 139:16
 
So when you feel powerless to change your feelings of despair, when you feel a lack of joy in your life, and when you don’t know where life is going to take you…
Come. Remember. Trust. He is always near.

2 thoughts on “Come. Remember. Trust.

  1. We also go through struggles, so we can help others. Life can beat us down, but Christ is the only ONE to truly lift us up. The most difficult times to trust this is when we go through these times. It is easy to share the truth but more difficult to live it. Thus, God tests our faith to see how we shall live our faith. Is it genuine? Paul tells us to work out our faith with fear and trembling.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful words – you do have the heart of God. What a joy knowing that when we are weary Jesus is right there to catch, hold us and strengthen us.

    Like

Leave a comment